Colored Colors

When my son was little he used to say his favorite color was ‘RAINBOW’ because he liked all of the colors so much that he didn’t want to have to choose. i always thought that was pretty smart, and not just because i had the same idea, but because, why should you have to choose a favorite? now, if you asked me what my favorite color was now- i’d definitely say ‘violet’ and of course, ‘teal’, but i’m still pretty partial towards ‘rainbow’. i’m a very visual person and each color represents things that are special to me. i’ll go one step further and say that i have a pretty kickass olfactory sense- and definitely relate smells to special things in my life. the two senses together bring me joy everyday.

red- is always apples, and love and valentines. it’s bright fire and the start of my journey to paganism.
orange- is sun and pumpkins and my intense love and connection with the fall.
yellow- is summer and lemon and bright rubber duckys.
green and i have a long term love affair. i have always loved anything green- plants, vegetables, spring, moss, the earth. i am enchanted by gardens and pools of jewel-toned water.
blue- is another favorite, but not enough to be my actual favorite. i love water, and oceans, the sky, pools,rivers, streams— i must stop by any fountain or water displays that we come across- I’ve always thought i belong somewhere tropical- in a hut on the beach, or happily sailing through waves.
indigo- is all of the above, but at night, when the sky turns to ink, to a shade that always love to incorporate into crafting.
finally- violet— very few things in nature are purple, but those that are- i love very much. eggplants, flowers, certain veggies, grapes…. but violet in the sky has to be one of my most favorite things.

colors are a very important part of my life and i have a hard time imagining a world of only black and white.

i didn’t want this to become a ‘raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens’ type post, but alas, i see colors individually, but making up the rainbow as if all of those things i listed were placed there together. and that’s the way i like it.
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/01/07/daily-prompt-colors/

4 thoughts on “Colored Colors

  1. Pingback: Color me poetic | JED's Playhouse

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Roy G. Biv | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Roy G. Biv | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Roses are Red – Baby when you come | Naveen writes

Leave a comment